Mario Greco receives prestigious Insurance Leader of the Year Award

Mario Greco, Group Chief Executive Officer of Zurich Insurance Group, has been honored with the prestigious Insurance Leader of the Year Award for 2023 by St. John’s University’s Maurice R. Greenberg School of Risk Management, Insurance and Actuarial Science, which is part of The Peter J. Tobin College of Business. The annual award ceremony was held on January 23, 2024, in New York.

Presented by Larry Fink, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of BlackRock, and John Keogh, President and Chief Operating Officer of Chubb Group, the award recognizes individuals who have demonstrated exceptional leadership in the global insurance industry. Under Mr. Greco’s leadership, Zurich has achieved substantial growth and a return on equity that is among the highest in the industry.

I am truly honored to be recognized as the Insurance Leader of the Year. This award is a testament to the collective efforts of the incredible team at Zurich. It is through their dedication and hard work that we have been able to drive positive change in the industry and deliver exceptional value to our customers.

Mario Greco, Group Chief Executive Officer

During his acceptance speech, Mr. Greco looked back on his career, reflecting on the values that have guided him. He addressed some of the pressing issues facing the insurance industry and discussed the need to nurture young talent. Mr. Greco also announced a USD 500,000 donation to extend the Zurich Fellows scholarship program for graduate studies, which was launched in 2020, and to establish the Center of Middle Market Risk Management Excellence.

Mr. Greco joins a list of distinguished insurance leaders and prior Insurance Leader of the Year honorees, including Alan D. Schnitzer in 2022 (Chairman and CEO of The Travelers Companies), Tricia Griffith in 2020 (President and CEO of The Progressive Corporation), Daniel S. Glaser in 2018 (as President and CEO of Marsh & McLennan Companies, Inc), Evan G. Greenberg in 2011 (as Chairman and CEO of ACE Limited), Greg Case in 2008 (as President and CEO of Aon Corporation), and James J. Schiro in 2007 (as Chief Executive Officer of Zurich

Source Link

Newsletter Updates

Enter your email address below and subscribe to our newsletter